a long time gone

dog-walking in Point Pleasant Park

This year has been so good to me. 2010 was the year of Liz – does anyone remember me proclaiming that as we entered the year of the Tiger, my lucky #10, the year my age would turn into the beautiful number 24? As we entered 2011, and I was surrounded by declarations of “I’m moving on from this @#$%^&* year!”, my work was to manifest that 2010 was not THE best year of my life, but just the start of something spectacular.

I choose you.

At the Landmark Forum, which I had the privilege of attending in January in Montreal, we talked about the difference between “deciding” and “choosing”. Deciding is about weighing the pros and cons of each option and going with the option that has the most benefits. “Choosing” is actively dedicating your conviction to an option, even if it’s the only option, and MAKING it the right choice. You say, yeah, THIS is what I want.

Smoked meat + pickle + cherry coke = yes.

So I’m choosing that. Don’t get me wrong – my life is pretty amazing, and I know how lucky I am that my options are all really lovely. My friends are supportive and inspiring. I can wake up every day and choose to be happy and to feel fortunate, and so every day is wonderful.

I'm certain that summer's my season.

That being said, obviously the month of February is inspiring me to look back on my 2010 – the Cool Global Sporting Event in Vancouver (the best job of all time), yoga teacher training in Byron and a subsequent year of yoga – practicing and teaching, possibly the best summer  ever, including daily swims, a really excellent love, and getting to wake up in Shad Bay and see the ocean from my pillow.

Ah, nostalgia.

So, I’m pleased to announce the next chapter: I’m leaving for Vancouver in a month! I’ll be moving on to another lululemon adventure, a new(ish) city, a new community, and the opportunity to create something really exciting for myself all over again. I’m envisioning lots of bike rides, yoga, photos, blogs, friends, playing outside, and opening my big heart to find even more joy and creativity. (Can you even picture that?)

West coast beginnings.

I’ll be sad to leave my home, but that’s the thing about home – it’s going to be there when I need it next.

Namaste!

1 Comment

Filed under Halifax, lululemon, travel

One response to “a long time gone

  1. Dan

    Hey!

    What are you doing in YVF for Lulu?? Sounds like a fun adventure

Leave a Reply

